What is the Mica Redress Scheme?

The Mica Redress Scheme, also known as the Defective Concrete Blocks Grant Scheme is designed to assist homeowners with remedial work to their primary private residence that has been damaged due to defective concrete blocks.

Who is eligible for the scheme?

This scheme is eligible for homeowners who have had their homes destroyed by faulty concrete blocks. There are blocks that have a lot of mica/pyrite in them. The residence must be the person's primary private residence. An owner can only apply for one dwelling under this grant scheme. Only one dwelling is eligible for a grant.

The process of the grant

Stage 1: Confirmation of Eligibility

The homeowner submits an online application to Donegal County Council (DCC) for Stage 1 approval. As proof of damage to the dwelling, this must be followed by an engineer's report (IS465 Registered engineer).

Stage 2: Grant Approval

Before work begins, the homeowner must apply for grant approval by completing the Stage 2 online application. This application requires a contractor to include approximate costs for redressing the dwelling. If satisfied, the DCC confirms the maximum grant amount authorised, according to the scheme's terms.

Stage 3: Payment of Grant

The homeowner may apply for full or partial payment of the grant after the work is completed and certified. This is achieved via the Stage 3 application, which is completed online.

Apply for the grant

If your home has been harmed, you can begin the application process right now by clicking here. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have any queries about the application process.

Scroll to Top